Athlete Profile: Kristian Gay

Age:  28

Location: Melbourne VIC

Years Training: 3 years (since 2013)

Day Job: Student

Recent Competition History:

  • Watch this space! Kristian will be competing in INBA Physically Challenged division in May and Oct 2017!

What is your background?

As a teenager I used to play wheelchair basketball in Coburg. Because of my disability I needed a sports wheelchair to play, however I didn't have one, so I used to complete the training just to get out the house once a week. In 2013 when I began working out at the gym, I found I just loved the feeling of lifting weights and growing reasonable size muscles with no added supps. I worked with a few PTs with varying results. I then found an amazing trainer who understood my disability and what it affects so he always tailored sessions accordingly.

How did you get started in bodybuilding?

I fell in love with the gym and using weights, so one day early into my gym membership I started watching DVDs about Bodybuilding and then got into watching how certain Bodybuilders trained. My main ones were Jay Cutler and Kai Greene...

I then started to find people on Facebook who were in the Industry, literally randomly adding people getting to know them etc and one day by chance I added Tony Lanciano the President of INBA Australia and the rest is history!

When did you first decide to compete?

When I heard about the Physically Challenged division being introduced by INBA next year in late 2016, it was the push I needed after having faced many challenges health wise the last 2 years

What does competiting look like for you so far?

I have just been blessed to obtain an Athlete Sponsorship with JPS Health and Fitness in Airport West Victoria and am currently preparing for the Physically Challenged division in INBA in May and October 2017. 

What inspires you?

Seeing people achieve their dreams regardless of the hurdles they face.

What is your advice to a new competitor?

Work hard, Listen and don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone.

What does a typical training week look like for you?

I typically train 3-4 days with a split program

What is your favourite exercise?

Military Press and any Shoulder exercise as they are my strength.

What is your least favourite exercise?

Legs and lucky I don't have to do them :)

Do you have a training tip you can share?

Don't lift with ego or your journey will be short lived due to injury

What is your favourite Cheat Meal?

Pizza!

What are you planning on doing next?

Competing in my very first Wheelchair Bodybuilding competition in May with the INBA division

How can people contact you?

Facebook: Kristian Gay

Instagram: @nolimitsorboundaries

This contents of website are copyright © 2015. Get Comp Ready. All Rights Reserved. Proudly created with Wix.com

Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is of a general nature only and does not constitute advice on health or nutrition.  Get Comp Ready makes no representations, express or implied, and gives no warranties about the accuracy, usefulness, suitability or application of any of the information contained in this website to your particular circumstances. Use of the information contained in this website is at your sole risk.  You should seek professional advice appropriate to your circumstances before acting or relying on the information. Under no circumstances will Get Comp Ready be liable for any damage or loss that may arise (either directly or indirectly) from the use of, or any omission from, the information provided.