Athlete Profile: Derek Chapman

Age:  54

Location: Townsville, QLD

Years Training: Not Long Started 1 January 2012

Day Job: Growing Not Big Enough (NBE) here in Australia

Recent Competition History:

  • INBA Tropix 2015:

    • 3rd Place

  • ANB North QLD 2014:

    •  1st Place

  • INBA State Championships 2014:

    • 3rd Place

  • ANB State Championships 2013:

    • 3rd Place

  • ANB North QLD 2013:

    • 2nd Place

  • INBA Tropix 2013:

    • 4th Place

What is your background?

New Zealand Born and educated, I left New Zealand in 1982 and lived in the UK for 10 years. In that time I competed in the 1984 NABBA South England and got 4th Place at my first ever comp. I’m a hairdresser by trade and have facilitated hair in 23 countries. 

How did you get started in bodybuilding?

In 2008, I got seriously injured as a security guard breaking up a brawl, which left me with a completely shattered shoulder and my rotator cuff ripped from the bone. Over the following 4 years of operations and court cases, my weight ballooned out of control and I put on 40kg. So after 4 years of rehab and Operations I said ‘enough is enough’ and started my mission on 1 January 2012 to get to stage.

When did you first decide to compete?

1 January 2012, is when I committed to stage.

What does competiting look like for you so far?

Competing for me is my way of challenging myself to arrive at a given destination and date in the best shape physically. 

What inspires you?

I’m inspired by the simplest of things. The things that most people don’t even realise and take for granted such as having mobility to get up in the early morning and train because I can. After my accident, I’d dream of being able to train with my shoulder. It’s not until you are incapacitated that you realise just how lucky we are when we are fully fit. It took 6 years of rehab of my should before finally being able to do overhead resistance (i.e. Military Shoulder Press).  

What is your advice to a new competitor?

My advice to a competitor is to find the right mentor that is a good fit for you.

What does a typical training week look like for you?

I train 6 days on and 1 day off.

What is your favourite exercise?

My favourite exercise is Deadlifts.

What is your least favourite exercise?

My least favourite is cable cross over as it really hurts my shoulder.

Do you have a training tip you can share?

Develop mind and muscle control and keep listening to your body.

What is your favourite Cheat Meal?

My favourite cheat meal is Chunky Monkey ice-cream.

What are you planning on doing next?

I'm planning on taking NBE to every state in Australia, while prepping to compete in Season B 2017.

How can people contact you?

Just through my social media accounts which are as follows:

Facebook: Derek Chapman

Instagram: @moonsalon1

Derek2
Derek3
Derek1
Derek5
Derek6
Derek7
Derek8_edited
Derek4_edited

This contents of website are copyright © 2015. Get Comp Ready. All Rights Reserved. Proudly created with Wix.com

Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is of a general nature only and does not constitute advice on health or nutrition.  Get Comp Ready makes no representations, express or implied, and gives no warranties about the accuracy, usefulness, suitability or application of any of the information contained in this website to your particular circumstances. Use of the information contained in this website is at your sole risk.  You should seek professional advice appropriate to your circumstances before acting or relying on the information. Under no circumstances will Get Comp Ready be liable for any damage or loss that may arise (either directly or indirectly) from the use of, or any omission from, the information provided.